Canada Summer Games Manitoba Hydro Torch Relay

We are proud to sponsor the Manitoba Hydro Torch Relay for this year’s Canada Summer Games. The Canada Summer Games run from July 28 to August 13, 2017, and includes 16 sports, more than 250 events, and a major cultural festival. Manitoba will welcome more than 4,000 athletes and coaches, and more than 20,000 visitors.

The torch relay will travel to 11 communities and more than 3500 km throughout Manitoba and Ontario. The final stop of the torch relay will be in Winnipeg with a celebration at Manitoba Hydro Place. The torch will then be brought into the Opening Ceremonies at MTS Centre to light the Canada Games cauldron.

Torch relay applications will be accepted from March 9 until April 14, 2017. Announcement of the torchbearers will be made on May 12.

Manitoba Hydro Torch Relay dates and locations

Friday, June 23 Steinbach, MB
Saturday, June 24 Kenora, ON
Thursday, June 29 Morden, MB
Saturday, July 1 Gillam/Fox Lake Cree Nation, MB
Thursday, July 6 Thompson, MB
Monday, July 10 The Pas/Opaskwayak Cree Nation, MB
Tuesday, July 11 Dauphin, MB
Friday, July 14 Great Falls/Sagkeeng First Nation, MB
Saturday, July 15 Gimli, MB
Thursday, July 20 Brandon, MB
Wednesday, July 26 Winnipeg, MB

* Manitoba Hydro and Canada Summer Games worked together to determine the route and is to be representative of the entire province of Manitoba as well as northwestern Ontario.