Statement from the Manitoba Hydro-Electric Board

This article was published in March 2018 and may be outdated.

H. Sanford Riley issued the following statement today on behalf of the following members of the Manitoba Hydro-Electric Board: Dave Brown, Earl Edmondson, Steve Kroft, Jennefer Nepinak, Michael Pyle, Allen Snyder, Dayna Spiring and Dr. Annette Trimbee:

“Earlier today we wrote to the Hon. Cliff Cullen, Minister of Crown Services, informing him of our resignation from the Manitoba Hydro-Electric Board effective immediately.

For over a year we have attempted to meet with the Premier to resolve a number of critical issues related to the finances and governance of Manitoba Hydro, including matters related to Hydro’s efforts to further develop its relationship with Indigenous peoples.

Despite repeated attempts we have not been able to have a meaningful dialogue with the government and we have reached an impasse. We have been informed the government intends to remove the Chair and has therefore lost confidence in the Board. Accordingly we have determined that it is necessary to resign.

We wish to thank the management and staff of Manitoba Hydro for their support and commitment during our time as Board members. They are committed to Manitoba Hydro’s long-term success and financial health. It has been an honour to work with them and we wish them all the best in the future.”

No additional comments will be issued by the MHEB or Manitoba Hydro on this matter.